Skip to main content
LetComplianceLandlord & property management software

Editorial round-up

Best Right to Rent check services (UK, 2026)

A Right to Rent check confirms that each adult who will live in a let in England may rent there, and a landlord can make it by hand from the original documents, through the Home Office online service with a share code, or through a digital provider on the government’s register. For landlords in England, LetCompliance runs the whole let and records each check on the tenant, whichever way it was made, with the evidence, the follow-up date and the day the copies can be destroyed, on every plan; it is not an identity provider and runs no check itself. This guide compares eight options on what a check costs, who can buy it and each provider’s entry on the register, as read on 25 October 2026.
Reviewed
Ranked
8 tools
The short answer

For landlords in England, LetCompliance is the pick for keeping Right to Rent checks in order: each check recorded on the tenant with its evidence, a reminder before a follow-up falls due, and the copies listed for deletion a year after the tenancy ends, on every plan. It runs no check itself. Of the registered digital providers here, only Vouchsafe showed a self-service price on 25 October 2026, and no fee is shown for the Home Office online check with a share code.

Method

How the tools were picked

Right to Rent check services were compared on what a landlord pays for a check, the plan or minimum it comes with, who each provider sells to, and its entry on the government’s register of digital verification services, where the Home Office code of practice requires a note that the provider can carry out right to rent checks. Prices and terms were read on each provider’s own pricing and right to rent pages, the register on its download, the code of practice in force from 1 October 2026 and the Home Office landlord’s guide on GOV.UK, and each company on Companies House, all on 25 October 2026. Providers whose own pages aim at another sector were read and left off the list. No check was run with any provider: this is a desk comparison, not a hands-on trial, and not legal advice.

Editorial standards
Tools ranked
8
Feature rows compared
6
Last reviewed
25 October 2026

How these were compared

  1. Prices: each provider’s own pricing and right to rent pages, read on 25 October 2026, with VAT as each states it. “Not published” means the pages read show no figure.
  2. Register: the government’s register of digital verification services, read the same day with its download, last updated on 23 October 2026. A digital right to rent check must be made by a provider on it with the right to rent code, and the register gives no prices. That day 37 of its 66 services, from 30 providers, carried the code; certificates expire and are renewed, so the register itself is the list to check.
  3. The law: the Home Office code of practice in force from 1 October 2026 and its landlord’s guide to right to rent checks, read on GOV.UK the same day.
  4. Company: Companies House, the official UK register, for the company each provider’s own pages or the government register name, by name and number. Where a UK customer contracts with a company outside the UK, its own terms are quoted, and a UK company beside it is said not to be that party.
  5. LetCompliance publishes this guide and ranks itself first, and says so. It is not an identity provider and is not on the register: it records the checks a landlord makes. Its prices come from its own plan list, and the screens under its entry are from its own app; no screen of another product is shown.
  6. This is a desk comparison of each provider’s own pages and the official registers. No check was run with any provider, and nothing here is legal advice.

At a glance

The comparison in one table

Scroll sideways on a phone. A tick means the tool does it as standard and a label gives the detail from the provider’s own site. “Not listed” means the provider’s own feature or pricing list does not show it, and a dash means it was not checked. A cross appears only for LetCompliance and for a spreadsheet.

Feature01LetCompliance02Vouchsafe03Yoti (Post Office EasyID)04Amiqus05TrustID06Credas07Thirdfort08Luciditi
Price of a checkFrom each provider’s own pricing and right to rent pages, read on 25 October 2026; the record under each entry gives the terms and its register entry.None: it records the check, and sells none£1.98 for each check beyond the planNot publishedFrom £15 a client (Standard)Pay per check, not publishedNot publishedCredits for each check, not publishedNot published
Plan or minimumEvery plan; paid plans from £7.99 a monthLite £49 a month for 25 checks, or £39 a month billed annually for 300 a yearThrough its sales teamMinimum contract £500 a monthA quote on requestGateway: one flat fee per search, billed monthlyA monthly platform fee, on a 12-month contractA subscription of at least 12 months, billed monthly
Sold toLandlords and letting agentsEmployers, recruiters and letting agents, in its own wordsBusinesses letting homesFirms onboarding clients, on a contractLetting agents, in its own wordsBusinesses: five users and one branch on GatewayFirms verifying buyers, sellers and tenantsBusinesses checking employees and tenants
On the government register for right to rentAs the register showed on 25 October 2026; the record under each entry names each service and its certificate dates.No: it records checks and runs noneYes, certificate to 4 February 2027Yes, three services, to 4 November 2028Yes, to 10 August 2029Yes, to 20 February 2029Yes, to 10 September 2028Yes, right to rent only, to 12 February 2029Yes, three services, to 3 December 2028
VAT on the priceNone addedNot statedNo price publishedNot statedNo price publishedNo price publishedNo price publishedExcluded
Check kept on the tenancy, with follow-up and deletion datesNot checkedNot checkedNot checkedNot checkedNot checkedNot checkedNot checked

The full ranking

Every tool, in order, with its gaps

Nothing here is listed without something it does badly. A round-up with no gaps is an advert.

01

LetCompliance

Best overall (every check kept with its tenancy)Landlord and property management software
Get started
Pricing
Recording checks is on every plan; paid plans from £7.99/mo for one property, with no VAT added (2026).
Best for
Landlords who want every Right to Rent check, follow-up and copy kept with the tenancy.

Inside LetCompliance

A tenancy on a property: the assured periodic tenancy agreement finalised and signed by the tenant, with the tenant, move-in date, rent, deposit and an unlimited Right to Rent check.
Tenancy agreements. Written for the rules since 1 May 2026, signed by the tenant on their phone.
Applications from a listing: each applicant with their income, move date and where their viewing has got to, and the one approved as the tenant.
Applications. Every applicant from your advert in one list, with where their viewing has got to.
The tenant portal a tenant sees: their rent and whether it is paid, buttons to report a repair, message the landlord, send a meter reading or open their documents, and a menu with rent, repairs, messages, inspections, pets and moving out.
Tenant portal. Your tenant’s own page, no password: rent, repairs, messages and documents.

Screens from a sample account. Names, addresses and some details changed, and some parts left out to fit.

LetCompliance is landlord and property management software that runs the whole let, and each Right to Rent check is recorded on the tenant it belongs to, whichever way the check was made: by hand from the documents, through the Home Office online service with a share code, or with a registered digital provider. Each record holds the check date, the document type, the share code and the day it was verified online, and a copy of the evidence; for a time-limited right the follow-up falls on the date the permission ends, or on an earlier date the landlord sets, or 12 months after the check when neither is recorded, with an email reminder before it. The move-in checklist counts every named tenant still to be checked, and a wizard sets out which check applies and when a follow-up is due. After a tenancy ends, the copies are listed for deletion one year on, as the Home Office code asks, and each goes only when the landlord confirms; Right to Rent copies are never shown in the tenant portal. Recording checks is on every plan. It ranks first because the record of every check sits with the tenancy it belongs to. Its limits are plain: it is not an identity provider, it runs no digital check and matches no face, and the check itself is the landlord’s to make.

Strengths

  • Every check recorded on the tenant, by hand, by share code or through a registered provider, with a copy of the evidence.
  • A follow-up date for a time-limited right, at the permission’s end or an earlier date the landlord sets, with an email reminder before it.
  • Copies listed for deletion one year after the tenancy ends, each deleted only when the landlord confirms.
  • A wizard for which check applies, and the move-in checklist counting every named tenant still to check.

Gaps

  • Not an identity provider: it runs no digital check and matches no face.
  • The check itself is the landlord’s: by hand, by share code or through a registered provider.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What a check costs

Price of a check
None: it records the check, and sells none
Plan or minimum
Every plan; paid plans from £7.99 a month
Sold to
Landlords and letting agents

Each check is recorded on the tenant on every plan: the date, the document type, a share code and the day it was verified online, a copy of the evidence, and for a time-limited right a follow-up date with an email reminder before it. The follow-up falls on the date the permission ends, or an earlier date the landlord sets, or 12 months after the check when neither is recorded. Copies are listed for deletion one year after the tenancy ends.

The government register (right to rent)

Not on the register: LetCompliance is not an identity provider and runs no digital check. It records the check made by hand, through the Home Office online service or with a registered provider.

Company (Companies House)

None: LetCompliance is run by its founder, Erdem Volkan, as a sole trader.

02

Vouchsafe

Best for a published self-service price
Visit site
Pricing
Lite £49/mo for 25 checks, or £39/mo billed annually for 300 a year; £1.98 an extra check; VAT not stated (2026).
Best for
A published price for digital checks, bought without a sales call.

Vouchsafe is a registered digital verification service for right to work, right to rent and DBS checks, and the one provider on this list that showed a self-service price, bought without a sales call, on 25 October 2026: its Lite plan is £49 a month for 25 checks, or £39 a month billed annually for 300 checks a year, with £1.98 for each check beyond the plan; VAT is not stated on the price. Its page describes Lite as for employers, recruiters and letting agents, and sign-up is self-service with a trial of 14 days, on which no live checks are allowed. The register shows its certificate expiring on 4 February 2027. Its lead is a published price, under £2 a check when all 25 are used, before any VAT, which its page does not state. It ranks second because it sells the check, while LetCompliance keeps every check, however it was made, on the tenancy with its follow-up and deletion dates.

Strengths

  • A published price: £49 a month for 25 checks, or £39 a month billed annually for 300 a year.
  • Self-service sign-up, with £1.98 for each extra check.
  • On the register for right to work, right to rent and DBS checks.

Gaps

  • A monthly subscription, aimed at employers, recruiters and letting agents in its own words.
  • VAT is not stated on its price.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What a check costs

Price of a check
£1.98 for each check beyond the plan
Plan or minimum
Lite £49 a month for 25 checks, or £39 a month billed annually for 300 a year
Sold to
Employers, recruiters and letting agents, in its own words

Sign-up is self-service, with a trial of 14 days that needs no payment card and allows no live checks. VAT is not stated on the price. Its Full plan is priced on request.

The government register (right to rent)

“Vouchsafe”, from Vouchsafe Limited, for right to work, right to rent and DBS checks: certified 5 February 2025, certificate expires 4 February 2027.

Company (Companies House)

VOUCHSAFE LIMITED, company number 14466175: “Active”, incorporated 7 November 2022.

03

Yoti (Post Office EasyID)

Best for tenants proving it on their own phone
Visit site
Pricing
Not published; through its sales team (2026).
Best for
Rental businesses that want tenants to prove their right to rent on their own phone.

Yoti is registered for right to rent with three services: Yoti IDV, Yoti Digital ID and Post Office EasyID, which it runs with the Post Office. Its right to rent page offers tenants three ways to prove their right to rent: an online check on the business’s own website or app, a reusable digital ID, and the Post Office EasyID app, which the tenant downloads at no cost. No price is published: businesses are asked to speak to sales. Its lead is the tenant proving it from their own phone. It ranks third because a landlord buys it through a sales conversation, while LetCompliance’s record of each check comes with every plan at a published price.

Strengths

  • Three registered services, Post Office EasyID among them.
  • The tenant downloads the Post Office EasyID app at no cost.
  • Online checks on the business’s own website or app, or a reusable digital ID.

Gaps

  • No published price: businesses are asked to speak to sales.
  • Its right to rent page is written for rental businesses.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What a check costs

Price of a check
Not published
Plan or minimum
Through its sales team
Sold to
Businesses letting homes

Its right to rent page offers tenants three ways to prove their right to rent: an online check on the business’s own website or app, a reusable digital ID, and Post Office EasyID, an app the tenant downloads at no cost. No price is published; businesses are asked to speak to sales.

The government register (right to rent)

“Yoti IDV”, “Yoti Digital ID” and “Post Office EasyID”, from Yoti Ltd, each for right to work, right to rent and DBS checks: certified 4 November 2025, certificates expire 4 November 2028.

Company (Companies House)

YOTI LTD, company number 08998951: “Active”, incorporated 15 April 2014.

04

Amiqus

Best for per-client pricing at volume
Visit site
Pricing
Standard from £15 a client, Scale from £10; minimum contract £500/mo; VAT not stated (2026).
Best for
Firms checking clients at volume, on a contract.

Amiqus lists right to rent among its client onboarding checks, priced per client: Standard from £15 a client and Scale from £10, with a minimum contract of £500 a month; VAT is not stated. Its service is on the register for right to work, right to rent and DBS, with a certificate to 10 August 2029. Its lead is a published price per client at volume. It ranks fourth because its contract has a £500 a month minimum, while LetCompliance records every check on every plan, with paid plans from £7.99 a month.

Strengths

  • A published price per client: from £15 on Standard and £10 on Scale.
  • On the register for right to work, right to rent and DBS checks.

Gaps

  • A minimum contract of £500 a month.
  • VAT is not stated on its prices.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What a check costs

Price of a check
From £15 a client (Standard)
Plan or minimum
Minimum contract £500 a month
Sold to
Firms onboarding clients, on a contract

Right to rent is listed among its client onboarding checks: Standard from £15 a client, with a minimum contract of £500 a month, and Scale from £10 a client. VAT is not stated.

The government register (right to rent)

“Amiqus”, from Amiqus Resolution Limited, for right to work, right to rent and DBS checks: certified 3 August 2026, certificate expires 10 August 2029.

Company (Companies House)

AMIQUS RESOLUTION LIMITED, company number SC511150: “Active”, incorporated 20 July 2015.

Pricing page

amiqus.co/pricing

05

TrustID

Best for letting agents paying per check
Visit site
Pricing
Pay per check, by quote; not published (2026).
Best for
Letting agents paying for each check.

TrustID’s right to rent page is written for letting agents, with a quote and a demo on request, and its site describes a simple pay-per-check pricing model with no set-up or user fees; no figure is published. Its TrustID Identity Verification Service is on the register for right to work, right to rent and DBS, with a certificate to 20 February 2029. Its lead is pay-per-check pricing for agents, with no set-up fee. It ranks fifth because its price is given only on a quote, while LetCompliance records every check on every plan at a published price.

Strengths

  • Pay-per-check pricing with no set-up or user fees, in its own words.
  • On the register for right to work, right to rent and DBS checks.

Gaps

  • No published figure: a quote on request.
  • Its right to rent page is written for letting agents.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What a check costs

Price of a check
Pay per check, not published
Plan or minimum
A quote on request
Sold to
Letting agents, in its own words

Its site describes a simple pay-per-check pricing model with no set-up or user fees, and its right to rent page offers a quote and a demo; no figure is published.

The government register (right to rent)

“TrustID Identity Verification Service”, from TRUSTID LIMITED, for right to work, right to rent and DBS checks: certified 20 February 2026, certificate expires 20 February 2029.

Company (Companies House)

TRUSTID LIMITED, company number 05953015: “Active”, incorporated 2 October 2006.

06

Credas

Best for agency packages with a flat fee per search
Visit site
Pricing
Not published; Gateway bills one flat fee per search, monthly (2026).
Best for
Agency branches buying checks in a package.

Credas sells Right to Rent checks in business packages: its starter, Gateway, bills monthly with one flat fee per search, for five users and a single branch or brand, and pricing comes with a demo whose form asks for a company and a work email. Its Credas Connect service is on the register for right to work, right to rent and DBS, with a certificate to 10 September 2028. Its lead is packages built for agency branches. It ranks sixth because no price is published and its demo asks for a company email, while LetCompliance records every check on every plan at a published price.

Strengths

  • One flat fee per search on Gateway, billed monthly.
  • On the register for right to work, right to rent and DBS checks.

Gaps

  • No published price: pricing comes with a demo.
  • The demo form asks for a company and a work email.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What a check costs

Price of a check
Not published
Plan or minimum
Gateway: one flat fee per search, billed monthly
Sold to
Businesses: five users and one branch on Gateway

Pricing comes with a demo, whose form asks for a company and a work email. Its starter package, Gateway, bills monthly with one flat fee per search, for five users and a single branch or brand.

The government register (right to rent)

“Credas Connect”, from Credas Technologies Ltd, for right to work, right to rent and DBS checks: certified 10 September 2025, certificate expires 10 September 2028.

Company (Companies House)

CREDAS TECHNOLOGIES LTD., company number 10429398: “Active”, incorporated 14 October 2016.

07

Thirdfort

Best for property firms that also check buyers and sellers
Visit site
Pricing
A monthly platform fee plus credits, 12-month contracts; figures not published (2026).
Best for
Property firms checking buyers, sellers and tenants in one place.

Thirdfort charges one monthly platform fee with unlimited users, then credits for the checks run, bought in bundles or against a yearly estimate, on 12-month contracts, with credits valid for two years; its plans for property verify buyers, sellers and tenants, and no figures are shown. The register lists its Thirdfort service for right to rent only, with a certificate to 12 February 2029. Its lead is checks for property firms that also verify buyers and sellers. It ranks seventh because it is sold on a 12-month contract with no published figures, while LetCompliance records every check on every plan at a published price.

Strengths

  • Unlimited users on its platform fee, with credits valid for two years.
  • On the register for right to rent checks.

Gaps

  • No published figures.
  • Contracts run for 12 months.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What a check costs

Price of a check
Credits for each check, not published
Plan or minimum
A monthly platform fee, on a 12-month contract
Sold to
Firms verifying buyers, sellers and tenants

One monthly platform fee with unlimited users, then credits for the checks run, bought in bundles or against a yearly estimate; contracts run for 12 months and credits stay valid for two years. No figures are shown.

The government register (right to rent)

“Thirdfort”, from Thirdfort Limited, for right to rent checks only: certified 12 February 2026, certificate expires 12 February 2029.

Company (Companies House)

THIRDFORT LIMITED, company number 10757456: “Active”, incorporated 8 May 2017.

08

Luciditi

Best for right to work and right to rent in one subscription
Visit site
Pricing
A subscription of at least 12 months, billed monthly, excl. VAT; figure not published (2026).
Best for
Businesses checking employees and tenants in one subscription.

Luciditi, from Arissian Ltd, sells managed right to work, right to rent and DBS checks for employees and tenants, on subscriptions of at least 12 months billed monthly with any overage, with prices excluding VAT and a 30-day trial; no figure is published, and its form asks for the number of employees. Three of its services are on the register for right to work, right to rent and DBS, with certificates to 3 December 2028. Its lead is right to work and right to rent checks in one subscription. It ranks last because it is sold as a 12-month subscription with no published figure, while LetCompliance records every check on every plan at a published price.

Strengths

  • Right to work, right to rent and DBS checks in one subscription.
  • A 30-day trial.

Gaps

  • No published figure, and prices exclude VAT.
  • Subscriptions run for at least 12 months.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What a check costs

Price of a check
Not published
Plan or minimum
A subscription of at least 12 months, billed monthly
Sold to
Businesses checking employees and tenants

Subscriptions are a minimum of 12 months, billed monthly with any overage, and its prices exclude VAT; a 30-day trial is offered, and its form asks for the number of employees. No figure is published.

The government register (right to rent)

“Luciditi App”, “Luciditi Digital Identity Platform” and “Luciditi Web SDK”, from Arissian Ltd, each for right to work, right to rent and DBS checks: certified 3 December 2025, certificates expire 3 December 2028.

Company (Companies House)

The register names Arissian Ltd as the provider of Luciditi: ARISSIAN LTD, company number 08862631: “Active”, incorporated 27 January 2014.

Ranked first

Why landlords keep Right to Rent checks in LetCompliance

  • Every check, however it was made

    By hand, by share code or through a registered provider, recorded on the tenant with a copy of the evidence.

  • A reminder before each follow-up

    A time-limited right gets a follow-up date, with an email reminder before it falls due.

  • Copies kept only as long as needed

    Listed for deletion one year after the tenancy ends, and never shown in the tenant portal.

From £7.99 a month for one property, £14.99 for up to 3.

FAQs

What buyers ask about this list

What is the best Right to Rent check service?

For landlords in England, LetCompliance is the pick on this list for keeping the checks: each one recorded on the tenant with its evidence, a reminder before each follow-up and the copies listed for deletion, on every plan. For the digital check itself, only Vouchsafe showed a self-service price on 25 October 2026, £49 a month for 25 checks, and no fee is shown for the Home Office online check with a share code.

Do I have to use a registered digital provider for Right to Rent checks?

No: the Home Office code of practice in force from 1 October 2026 says using a digital verification service is not mandatory, and a check can still be made by hand from the original documents. If a landlord does use one, it must be on the government’s register with a note that it can carry out right to rent checks, and the landlord stays responsible for the check, not the provider.

What does a digital Right to Rent check cover?

A registered provider can check a British or Irish passport or an Irish passport card, including a passport up to six months past its expiry, and documents their issuer provides to it digitally, and it can match the tenant’s face to the photo. Anyone with an eVisa can only be checked through the Home Office online service, with a share code that begins with an R, lasts 90 days and is entered with their date of birth.

How much does a Right to Rent check cost?

Of the registered providers read on 25 October 2026, Vouchsafe published £49 a month for 25 checks, with £1.98 for each check beyond that, and Amiqus from £15 a client with a £500 a month minimum; the rest give prices on a quote or a demo. No fee is shown for the Home Office online check with a share code, and a check by hand from the original documents needs no provider. Recording a check in LetCompliance is on every plan.

What must a landlord still do after a digital check?

Four things, under the Home Office guide of 1 October 2026: use a provider on the register, get its result, check that the photo and date of birth are the tenant’s, and keep a copy for the tenancy and a year after. The check of the photo can be in person, by video or by the provider’s face matching, and the copy is destroyed after that year. The landlord stays responsible for the check, a referencing firm that resells one must name the registered provider it uses, and a tenant who does not want a digital check must not be treated less favourably and should be offered a check by hand from the documents.

Is LetCompliance a Right to Rent check provider?

No: LetCompliance is not an identity provider and is not on the register, and it runs no digital check. It records the check the landlord makes, by hand, through the Home Office online service or with a registered provider, with the evidence, the follow-up date and the day the copies can be destroyed.

When were these prices and register entries checked?

On 25 October 2026, on each provider’s own pricing and right to rent pages, the government’s register of digital verification services and its download, and Companies House. Certificates on the register expire and are renewed, so check the register itself before using a provider.

Editorial discipline

LetCompliance is the editor’s own product, landlord software that runs the whole let, and it ranks first on every list for that reason. That is the editor’s view, not a neutral test, so every other entry says what it does better than LetCompliance and links to it. The review date at the top is the day this page was last reviewed and changed. The day each provider’s prices and features were checked on its own website is given under How the tools were picked. Read the editorial standards.

Run a let through it

The quickest way to judge software is to put one let through it

From £7.99 a month for one property. Add a property and the whole let runs in one place: the advert and the applicants, the tenancy and the signatures, the rent and the arrears, the repairs, the certificates and the notices, and the numbers ready for SA105 and MTD at the end of it.