Skip to main content
LetComplianceLandlord & property management software

Editorial round-up

Best online letting agents (UK, 2026)

An online letting agent advertises a home and can collect the rent or manage the let, for published fees that are often flat rather than a share of the rent. For UK landlords who show the home themselves, LetCompliance runs the whole let with no agent, from £7.99 a month: the advert and applications, the tenancy signed online, Direct Debit rent with no commission, repairs and notices. It is software, not a letting agent, so it does no viewings or inspection visits. This guide compares six ways to let online, LetCompliance and five online letting agents, on what each charges to find a tenant, collect the rent and manage the let, as each one’s own fee list showed it on 25 October 2026.
Reviewed
Ranked
6 tools
The short answer

For UK landlords who show the home themselves, LetCompliance is the pick: landlord software, not a letting agent, that runs the whole let for one plan price from £7.99 a month, with no commission on the rent, where the online agents here charge a fee for each service or a share of the rent. It does no viewings or inspection visits; the five agents are ranked with their own published fees as read on 25 October 2026.

Method

How the tools were picked

Online letting agents were compared on what a landlord in England pays to find a tenant, to have the rent collected and to have the let fully managed, with any set-up and other fees, VAT as each list states it, and how each charge is worked out. Each figure is from the agent’s own fee list or pricing pages, read on 25 October 2026, and each company from Companies House the same day. LetCompliance is landlord software, not a letting agent, and is ranked first as the way to run the let with no agent; it is the publisher’s own product. Nothing was bought from any agent: this is a desk comparison, not a hands-on trial.

Editorial standards
Tools ranked
6
Feature rows compared
8
Last reviewed
25 October 2026

How these were compared

  1. Fees: each agent’s own fee list or pricing pages, read on 25 October 2026, for finding a tenant, collecting the rent and managing the let, with any set-up and other fees. VAT is shown as each list states it, and a fee with no VAT marking is said to be.
  2. Which agents: online letting agents with a national fee list on their own site that day. Several names known for letting online showed no lettings service at their own web address on 25 October 2026, and the questions below say what each address showed, and nothing about why.
  3. Company: Companies House, the official UK register, for the company each provider’s own pages or the government register name, by name and number. Where a UK customer contracts with a company outside the UK, its own terms are quoted, and a UK company beside it is said not to be that party.
  4. LetCompliance publishes this guide and ranks itself first, and says so. It is landlord software, not a letting agent, and its entry says what that leaves to the landlord. Its prices come from its own plan list, and the screens under its entry are from its own app; no screen of another product is shown.
  5. This is a desk comparison of each agent’s own pages and the official register. Nothing was bought from any agent.

At a glance

The comparison in one table

Scroll sideways on a phone. A tick means the tool does it as standard and a label gives the detail from the provider’s own site. “Not listed” means the provider’s own feature or pricing list does not show it, and a dash means it was not checked. A cross appears only for LetCompliance and for a spreadsheet.

Feature01LetCompliance02OpenRent03LettingaProperty04MakeUrMove05The Online Letting Agents06Purplebricks
Finding a tenantFrom each agent’s own fee list or pricing pages, read on 25 October 2026; the record under each entry gives the VAT and the other fees.An advert on its own listings page and by link, in the plan£0 on OpenRent; £29 for its portal packageFind a Tenant from £199£150 one-off advertising packageBuild-your-own tenant find from £9990% of the first month’s rent, minimum £720
Collecting the rentDirect Debit into your own Stripe account, no commission£10 a monthRent Collect from £59 a monthNo separate plan listed£17.50 a month9.6% of the total rent for the term, minimum £48 a month
Full managementNot offered: software, not a letting agentNo full management plan listedComplete Care from £109 a month10% a month including VAT, minimum £756.5% a month, capped at £110, minimum £7512% of the total rent for the term, minimum £81 a month
VAT on the fees shownNone addedIncluded on the packages; not marked on the restIncludedIncluded on the 10%; not marked on the restNot statedIncluded
How it is chargedOne plan price by portfolio sizeA flat fee for each serviceA flat monthly fee by rent bandA one-off package; management a share of the rentA share of the rent a month, cappedA share of the total rent for the term
Set-up feeNoneNone beyond the package£199 on every monthly planNot checked£199 on part and full management£420 to £960, by service and London
Advert on RightmoveLetCompliance’s advert is on its own listings page and by link, with its text and photos ready to post elsewhere.An optional £70 extraIn the £199 set-up, 8 weeksIn the £150 packageIn the tenant find, up to 60 daysNot checked
Viewings and inspection visits for the landlordViewings attended from £49; a mid-tenancy inspection from £82Viewings handled on the monthly plans, in the set-up; an add-on with Find a TenantViewings from £60; routine inspections on full managementA viewings package to orderAn inspection every 6 months on full management; viewings attended £120 a tenancy

The full ranking

Every tool, in order, with its gaps

Nothing here is listed without something it does badly. A round-up with no gaps is an advert.

01

LetCompliance

Best overall (the let run with no agent)Landlord and property management software
Get started
Pricing
From £7.99/mo for one property and £19/mo for up to 10, with no VAT added and no commission on the rent (2026).
Best for
Landlords who show the home themselves and want the rest of the let run in one place, with no agent’s fee.

Inside LetCompliance

The rent list: tenants behind on rent, sorted by who owes most, one four months behind with the Ground 8 threshold reached and a Section 8 draft offered, others showing the date Ground 8 would be reached.
Rent and arrears. Sorted by who owes most, with the date Ground 8 would be reached if nothing more is paid.
Applications from a listing: each applicant with their income, move date and where their viewing has got to, and the one approved as the tenant.
Applications. Every applicant from your advert in one list, with where their viewing has got to.
The repairs list: repairs reported by tenants or logged by the landlord, each with its category, property, tenant and a response clock showing time left or how far overdue it is.
Repairs. From the tenant’s portal or logged by you after a call, each on a clock so nothing sits.

Screens from a sample account. Names, addresses and some details changed, and some parts left out to fit.

LetCompliance is landlord and property management software that runs the whole let, for a landlord who would rather not pay an agent to do it. It is software, not a letting agent: the advert goes on its own listings page and by link, applications and viewings are kept in one list, a reference is ordered from the application, and the tenancy agreement is drafted from the tenancy and signed online. The deposit and its Prescribed Information are recorded on the same record, rent is collected by Direct Debit into the landlord’s own Stripe account with no commission on the rent, and repairs, inspections and, on paid plans, Section 8 and Section 13 notices run from it too. Plans are one price for each size of portfolio, never a charge per property: £7.99 a month for one property and £19 a month for up to 10, with no VAT added. It ranks first because the let runs for one plan price, never a share of the rent: on a £1,200 monthly rent, MakeUrMove’s 10% full management comes to £120 a month. Its limits are plain: it does no viewings or inspection visits for the landlord, it has no Rightmove or Zoopla feed, and it holds no rent or deposits.

Strengths

  • One plan price by portfolio size, never a share of the rent: £7.99 a month for one property, with no VAT added and no set-up fee.
  • The advert, applications, viewings and a reference ordered from the application, in one list.
  • The tenancy agreement drafted from the tenancy and signed online, with the deposit and its Prescribed Information on the same record.
  • Rent by Direct Debit into the landlord’s own Stripe account, with no commission on the rent.
  • Repairs, inspections and, on paid plans, Section 8 and Section 13 notices from the same record.

Gaps

  • Software, not a letting agent: no viewings and no inspection visits for the landlord.
  • No Rightmove or Zoopla feed: the advert is on its own listings page and by link, with its text and photos ready to post elsewhere.
  • It holds no rent or deposits: the rent goes to the landlord’s own Stripe account, and the landlord protects the deposit with a scheme.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What it charges

Finding a tenant
An advert on its own listings page and by link, in the plan
Collecting the rent
Direct Debit into your own Stripe account, no commission
Full management
Not offered: software, not a letting agent

One price for each size of portfolio, never a charge per property, with no VAT added. The advert goes on its own listings page and by link, with no Rightmove or Zoopla feed, and rent goes straight into the landlord’s own Stripe account. Stripe charges 1% of each Direct Debit payment with a 20p minimum and a £4 cap, and £5 for a disputed payment. It does no viewings or inspection visits for the landlord.

Company (Companies House)

None: LetCompliance is run by its founder, Erdem Volkan, as a sole trader.

02

OpenRent

Best for flat fees for each step of letting
Visit site
Pricing
Free on OpenRent; portal package £29; Advertising + Rent Now £58; Rent Now alone £79, these three including VAT; rent collection £10/mo; referencing £30 (2026).
Best for
Flat fees for each step of finding and setting up a tenant.

OpenRent charges a flat fee for each service rather than a share of the rent, as its pricing page showed on 25 October 2026: advertising on OpenRent itself is free, its £29 portal package adds Zoopla and what it calls up to 100+ partner sites, with Rightmove an optional £70 extra, and Advertising with Rent Now is £58, shown against a struck-through £108. Rent Now, £79 on its own, covers holding deposit processing, the contract with digital signing, deposit registration and the first rent, starting from an OpenRent listing. Those three prices are marked as including VAT. Rent collection is £10 a month, referencing £30 a person, viewings attended for the landlord from £49 and a mid-tenancy inspection from £82, and Section 8 notices are listed as free; these carry no VAT wording, and no full management plan is listed. Its lead is low flat fees for each step of letting. It ranks second because, once the tenant is in, the rest of the let is bought service by service, while LetCompliance runs it from the advert to the repairs and the notices for one plan price from £7.99 a month.

Strengths

  • Advertising on OpenRent itself is free, and £29 adds Zoopla and partner sites, including VAT.
  • Rent Now covers the contract, digital signing, deposit registration and the first rent, from £58 with advertising.
  • Rent collection at £10 a month and referencing at £30 a person.
  • Viewings attended for the landlord from £49, and a mid-tenancy inspection from £82.

Gaps

  • Rightmove is an optional £70 extra on its portal packages.
  • No full management plan is listed on its pricing page.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What it charges

Finding a tenant
£0 on OpenRent; £29 for its portal package
Collecting the rent
£10 a month
Full management
No full management plan listed

Advertising on OpenRent itself is free; its £29 portal package adds Zoopla and what it calls up to 100+ partner sites, and Rightmove is an optional £70 extra. Advertising with Rent Now is £58, shown against a struck-through £108, and Rent Now on its own is £79; those three prices are marked as including VAT. Referencing is £30 a person, viewings attended for the landlord are from £49 and a mid-tenancy inspection from £82, with no VAT wording, and Section 8 notices are listed as free.

Company (Companies House)

OPENRENT LTD, company number 07749632: “Active”, incorporated 23 August 2011.

Read the full LetCompliance vs OpenRent comparison
03

LettingaProperty

Best for management at a flat monthly fee
Visit site
Pricing
Find a Tenant from £199; Rent Collect from £59/mo; Complete Care from £109/mo; £199 set-up; all including VAT (2026).
Best for
Management at a flat monthly fee set by the rent band.

LettingaProperty.com prices its plans as flat monthly fees set by the rent band, never a percentage, all including VAT: Find a Tenant from £199, Rent Collect from £59 a month and Complete Care, its management plan with maintenance coordination, from £109 a month, with its pages giving £59 to £109 for Rent Collect and £109 to £159 for Complete Care across the bands. Every monthly plan starts with a £199 set-up fee covering 8 weeks of advertising on Rightmove, Zoopla and PrimeLocation, re-advertising is £199 again after 8 weeks, and a £120 fee applies when the account closes, except when re-listing; paying annually saves 20%, and extra referencing is £59 a person. Its site says Lettingaproperty.com is a trading name of PropMedia Ltd. Its lead is management at a flat fee by rent band, not a share of the rent. It ranks third because the set-up, re-advertising and closing fees come on top of the monthly plan, while LetCompliance runs the let for one plan price from £7.99 a month, with no set-up or closing fee.

Strengths

  • Flat monthly plans by rent band, never a percentage, all including VAT.
  • Complete Care, with maintenance coordination, from £109 a month; Rent Collect from £59.
  • 20% off for paying annually.

Gaps

  • A £199 set-up fee on every monthly plan, and £199 again to re-advertise after 8 weeks.
  • A £120 fee when the account closes, except when re-listing.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What it charges

Finding a tenant
Find a Tenant from £199
Collecting the rent
Rent Collect from £59 a month
Full management
Complete Care from £109 a month

All prices include VAT. Every monthly plan starts with a £199 set-up fee covering 8 weeks of advertising on Rightmove, Zoopla and PrimeLocation, and re-advertising after 8 weeks is £199 again; a £120 fee applies when the account closes, except when re-listing. The plans run by rent band, Rent Collect from £59 to £109 a month and Complete Care from £109 to £159, with 20% off for paying annually, and extra referencing is £59 a person.

Company (Companies House)

Its site says Lettingaproperty.com is a trading name of PROPMEDIA LTD, company number 06679146: “Active”, incorporated 21 August 2008.

04

MakeUrMove

Best for full management priced with VAT included
Visit site
Pricing
Advertising £150 one-off; full management 10%/mo including VAT, minimum £75; Good Landlord £99 a year (2026).
Best for
Full management at a published rate with VAT included.

MakeUrMove sells a £150 one-off advertising package on Rightmove, Zoopla, PrimeLocation and its own site, for up to 60 days or until the home is let, with a digitally signed tenancy, and full management at 10% a month including VAT, with a £75 minimum and three months’ notice to end it at any time; the 10% is the one figure its pages mark as including VAT. Extras include referencing at £48 a tenant, photography from £132, viewings from £60 and deposit collection at £35. For landlords who manage their own lets, its Good Landlord membership, subject to application, is £99 a year for up to 5 tenancies, with document storage, reminders and templates, and its page lists Making Tax Digital tools among features coming soon. Its lead is full management at 10%, the lowest rate on this list that states VAT. It ranks fourth because management is a share of the rent, £120 a month on a £1,200 rent, while LetCompliance runs the let for one plan price from £7.99 a month, with Making Tax Digital on every paid plan.

Strengths

  • Full management at 10% a month including VAT, with a £75 minimum and three months’ notice at any time.
  • A £150 advertising package on Rightmove, Zoopla and PrimeLocation, with a digitally signed tenancy.
  • A Good Landlord membership for landlords who manage their own lets, £99 a year for up to 5 tenancies.

Gaps

  • Only the 10% is marked as including VAT on its pages.
  • Making Tax Digital tools are listed as coming soon on its Good Landlord page.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What it charges

Finding a tenant
£150 one-off advertising package
Collecting the rent
No separate plan listed
Full management
10% a month including VAT, minimum £75

Only the 10% is marked as including VAT. The £150 package advertises on Rightmove, Zoopla, PrimeLocation and MakeUrMove for up to 60 days or until let, with a digitally signed tenancy. Full management needs three months’ notice to end, at any time. Extras include referencing at £48 a tenant, photography from £132, viewings from £60 and deposit collection at £35. Its Good Landlord membership, for landlords who manage their own lets, is £99 a year for up to 5 tenancies, subject to application.

Company (Companies House)

MAKE UR MOVE LIMITED, company number 06466785: “Active”, incorporated 8 January 2008.

05

The Online Letting Agents

Best for management capped at a monthly maximum
Visit site
Pricing
Tenant find from £99; rent collection £17.50/mo; part management 4.5%/mo and full management 6.5%/mo, each capped; £199 set-up; VAT not stated (2026).
Best for
Management with a monthly cap on the fee.

The Online Letting Agents sells a build-your-own tenant find from £99, advertised on Rightmove and Zoopla for up to 60 days, with the landlord doing the viewings; rent collection at £17.50 a month from 1 May 2026, though its order form’s option still reads £15; part management at 4.5% a month, capped at £75 with a £55 minimum; and full management at 6.5% a month, capped at £110 with a £75 minimum. Part and full management carry a £199 set-up fee, £99 up front and £100 from the first month’s rent, with £100 again on a re-let; references are £49 each, a bespoke contract £45, e-signing the contract £15 and lodging the deposit £20. Its residential fees do not say whether VAT is included. Its lead is management capped at £110 a month. It ranks fifth because management is a share of the rent, with a £199 set-up fee on top and £100 again on a re-let, while LetCompliance runs the let for one plan price from £7.99 a month, with no set-up fee.

Strengths

  • Full management at 6.5% a month, capped at £110.
  • Part management at 4.5% a month, capped at £75.
  • A build-your-own tenant find from £99, on Rightmove and Zoopla for up to 60 days.

Gaps

  • A £199 set-up fee on part and full management, and £100 again on a re-let.
  • Its residential fees do not say whether VAT is included.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What it charges

Finding a tenant
Build-your-own tenant find from £99
Collecting the rent
£17.50 a month
Full management
6.5% a month, capped at £110, minimum £75

Its residential fees do not say whether VAT is included. Rent collection is £17.50 a month from 1 May 2026, as its order form notes beside an option still reading £15. Part management is 4.5% a month, capped at £75 with a £55 minimum, and part and full management carry a £199 set-up fee, £99 up front and £100 from the first month’s rent, with £100 again on a re-let. References are £49 each, a bespoke contract £45, e-signing the contract £15 and lodging the deposit £20.

Company (Companies House)

THE ONLINE LETTING AGENTS LTD, company number 07744627: “Active”, incorporated 18 August 2011.

06

Purplebricks

Best for every lettings fee in one published list
Visit site
Pricing
Tenant find 90% of the first month’s rent (minimum £720); rent collection 9.6% and full management 12% of the total rent for the term, plus set-up; all including VAT (2026).
Best for
One fee list covering tenant find, rent collection and management.

Purplebricks publishes its lettings fees in one list, including VAT: tenant find at 90% of the first month’s rent, with a £720 minimum; rent collection at 9.6% of the total rent for the term, with a £48 a month minimum and set-up of £420 outside London or £720 inside; and full management at 12% of the total rent for the term, with an £81 a month minimum and set-up of £540 or £960. The same list prices photos and a floor plan at £135, an inventory at £180 to £300, a Section 8 notice at £200, a Section 13 notice at £150 and deposit registration at £40. Its lead is every charge set out in one document. It ranks sixth because its commission is charged on the rent for the whole term with a set-up fee on top, and its 12% is the highest percentage on this list, while LetCompliance runs the let for one plan price from £7.99 a month and, on paid plans, drafts the Section 8 and Section 13 notices with no charge per notice.

Strengths

  • Every lettings fee in one published list, VAT included.
  • Tenant find at 90% of the first month’s rent, with a £720 minimum.
  • Photos, inventories and notices priced on the same list.

Gaps

  • Commission is charged on the total rent for the term, with a set-up fee from £420 to £960.
  • Full management at 12%, the highest percentage on this list.

Prices and records, read 25 October 2026

What it charges

Finding a tenant
90% of the first month’s rent, minimum £720
Collecting the rent
9.6% of the total rent for the term, minimum £48 a month
Full management
12% of the total rent for the term, minimum £81 a month

Fees include VAT, as its fee list says. Set-up is £420 outside London or £720 inside for rent collection, and £540 or £960 for full management. The same list prices photos and a floor plan at £135, an inventory at £180 to £300, a Section 8 notice at £200, a Section 13 notice at £150 and deposit registration at £40.

Company (Companies House)

Its site footer names PURPLEBRICKS PROPERTY LIMITED, company number 14856837: “Active”, incorporated 9 May 2023.

Ranked first

Why landlords run the let in LetCompliance with no agent

  • One plan price, never a share of the rent

    From £7.99 a month for one property, with no commission on the rent and no set-up fee.

  • The whole let in one place

    The advert, applications, the tenancy signed online, the deposit, Direct Debit rent, repairs and notices on one record.

  • The landlord’s own decisions

    Rent goes to the landlord’s own Stripe account, and the landlord shows the home and chooses the tenant.

From £7.99 a month for one property, £14.99 for up to 3.

FAQs

What buyers ask about this list

What is the best online letting agent in the UK?

For UK landlords who show the home themselves, LetCompliance is the pick on this list: landlord software, not a letting agent, that runs the whole let for one plan price from £7.99 a month, with no commission on the rent. Of the online agents, OpenRent charges a flat fee for each service, LettingaProperty.com a flat monthly fee by rent band, including VAT, and MakeUrMove 10% for full management, including VAT, as read on 25 October 2026.

How much do online letting agents charge?

On this list, finding a tenant costs nothing on OpenRent’s own site and £29 for its portal package, from £99 at The Online Letting Agents, £150 at MakeUrMove and from £199 at LettingaProperty.com, and 90% of the first month’s rent at Purplebricks, with a £720 minimum. Rent collection runs from £10 a month at OpenRent to 9.6% of the total rent at Purplebricks, and full management from 6.5% a month, capped at £110, at The Online Letting Agents, with VAT not stated, up to 12% at Purplebricks, as each list showed on 25 October 2026.

Are online letting agents cheaper than high-street agents?

On the published lists, yes for full management: MakeUrMove charges 10% and Purplebricks 12%, both including VAT, while the high-street agents on the letting agent fees page publish 18% to 21.6%, also including VAT, on lists read on 16 October 2026. LetCompliance is software, not an agent: one plan price from £7.99 a month, with the landlord doing the viewings and the visits.

Can I let a property without a letting agent?

Yes: a landlord in England can let a home without an agent and carry out the landlord’s duties directly, from the Right to Rent check and the deposit protection to the safety certificates. In LetCompliance the advert, applications, viewings, the reference, the tenancy signed online, the deposit, Direct Debit rent, repairs and notices run in one login from £7.99 a month; the landlord shows the home and makes the visits.

Is LetCompliance a letting agent?

No: LetCompliance is landlord software, not a letting agent, so it does no viewings or inspection visits and holds no rent or deposits. It runs the rest of the let for the landlord, from the advert and the tenancy signed online to Direct Debit rent into the landlord’s own Stripe account, repairs and notices, for one plan price from £7.99 a month.

What happened to Upad, Strike and other online letting agents?

On 25 October 2026, eight names known for letting homes online led to no lettings service at their own web address. Upad’s address, www.upad.co.uk, did not resolve, doorsteps.co.uk led to a domain parking page, easyProperty’s lettings and landlord pages were not found and its site offered selling only, strike.co.uk/landlords redirected to Purplebricks’ landlord page, hatched.co.uk redirected to Connells Group, and Settled’s lettings page and the Mashroom and Home Made domains were parked or for sale. Only what each address showed that day is said here, not why.

When were these fees checked?

On 25 October 2026, on each agent’s own fee list or pricing pages, and each company on Companies House. Fees change without notice, so check an agent’s own list before you sign up.

Editorial discipline

LetCompliance is the editor’s own product, landlord software that runs the whole let, and it ranks first on every list for that reason. That is the editor’s view, not a neutral test, so every other entry says what it does better than LetCompliance and links to it. The review date at the top is the day this page was last reviewed and changed. The day each provider’s prices and features were checked on its own website is given under How the tools were picked. Read the editorial standards.

Run a let through it

The quickest way to judge software is to put one let through it

From £7.99 a month for one property. Add a property and the whole let runs in one place: the advert and the applicants, the tenancy and the signatures, the rent and the arrears, the repairs, the certificates and the notices, and the numbers ready for SA105 and MTD at the end of it.