Letting agent fees, Sheffield
How much do letting agents charge in Sheffield? Full management is 12% to 18% of the rent.
On seven Sheffield agents’ own fee lists, read 26 October 2026, full management is 12% (2roost) to 18% (Redbrik Gold) of the rent, VAT included. Four of the seven lists have a 12% rate. On the average Sheffield rent that is £1,347.84 to £2,021.76 a year, before set-up fees.
- Fee lists
- 9
- Read on
- 26 October 2026
- Average rent
- £936 a month, ONS
Keeping the fee? LetCompliance is landlord software for running the whole let yourself: the advert, the tenancy agreement, rent by Direct Debit and Making Tax Digital, from £7.99 a month for one property.
Compare Sheffield agents
What nine Sheffield letting agents publish
Every letting agent in England has to publish its fees with tax included (Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 83). These figures are read from the agents’ own sites, not from a summary, and each row links the page it came from. Each agent’s own list decides what you pay, and fees change.
What Sheffield letting agents charge landlords
2roost
Independent Swallownest, Sheffield (S26), with a Rotherham branch- Full management
- 12% (10% plus VAT)
- Set-up fee
- £420, VAT included
- Tenant find or let only
- Let only £780, VAT included, out of the first month’s rent
- Rent collection
- 8.4% (7% plus VAT)
- VAT on the list
- VAT included
The Letting Company
Independent Wakefield, Barnsley, Sheffield, Doncaster and Rotherham, on one list- Full management
- 10% plus VAT 12% with VAT at 20%
- Set-up fee
- None listed; deposit registration £75 plus VAT, optional
- Tenant find or let only
- Tenant find only £395 plus VAT
- Rent collection
- Not listed
- VAT on the list
- Printed plus VAT
Whitehornes
Independent Sheffield (lettings office on Chesterfield Road)- Full management
- 10% plus VAT for the rest of the tenancy 12% with VAT at 20%
- Set-up fee
- £425 plus VAT (£510 with VAT at 20%), from the first month’s rent
- Tenant find or let only
- Set-up fee £425 plus VAT, from the first month’s rent
- Rent collection
- Not listed
- VAT on the list
- Printed plus VAT
Redbrik
Independent Sheffield, Chesterfield and Crystal Peaks- Full management
- 13.2% Silver, or 18% Gold with rent and legal protection, the inventory and deposit registration included
- Set-up fee
- £480 on every package
- Tenant find or let only
- No let-only service listed; Bronze finds the tenant and collects the rent
- Rent collection
- 7.8% Bronze, with the £480 set-up fee
- VAT on the list
- VAT included
Tapton Estates
Independent Broomhall, Sheffield (S10)- Full management
- 14% inclusive of VAT
- Set-up fee
- Tenant set-up, including deposit protection, £78 (£65 plus VAT)
- Tenant find or let only
- Let only 9%, VAT included
- Rent collection
- Not listed
- VAT on the list
- VAT included
Let Correct Sheffield
Franchise branch Sheffield Digital Campus, Sheffield Run by a local franchisee of Let Correct UK Ltd- Full management
- 12% Fully Managed, or 18% Fully Managed + with rent insurance, of the rent received
- Set-up fee
- £540 for each new tenant find
- Tenant find or let only
- Tenant Find Only £600
- Rent collection
- 10% of rent received monthly, plus £540 for each new tenant find
- VAT on the list
- VAT included
Northwood Sheffield
Franchise branch Sheffield and Rotherham Run by Northwood Sheffield Limited- Full management
- 15% of the monthly rent
- Set-up fee
- £420
- Tenant find or let only
- £660 tenant find commission
- Rent collection
- 12% of the monthly rent, plus the £420 set-up fee
- VAT on the list
- VAT included
Dove Properties
Independent Ecclesall Road, Sheffield (S11)- Full management
- 12.5% plus VAT (15%) 15% with VAT at 20%
- Set-up fee
- Tenancy set-up, including deposit protection, £82.80 (£69 plus VAT)
- Tenant find or let only
- Let only 100% of the first month’s rent plus VAT
- Rent collection
- 9.75% plus VAT (11.7%) on its page; its fee schedule prints 9.59% plus VAT
- VAT on the list
- Printed plus VAT
Staves Estate Agents
Independent Woodseats, Sheffield (S8), with offices across south Sheffield and in Dronfield- Full management
- 12% monthly commission; the list does not say whether VAT is added
- Set-up fee
- £400 on a fully managed let
- Tenant find or let only
- Let only set-up fee from £650
- Rent collection
- Not listed
- VAT on the list
- VAT not stated
| Agent | Full management | Set-up fee | Tenant find or let only | Rent collection | VAT on the list | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2roost Independent Swallownest, Sheffield (S26), with a Rotherham branch | 12% (10% plus VAT) | £420, VAT included | Let only £780, VAT included, out of the first month’s rent | 8.4% (7% plus VAT) | VAT included | 2roost Fee list read 26 October 2026 |
| The Letting Company Independent Wakefield, Barnsley, Sheffield, Doncaster and Rotherham, on one list | 10% plus VAT 12% with VAT at 20% | None listed; deposit registration £75 plus VAT, optional | Tenant find only £395 plus VAT | Not listed | Printed plus VAT | The Letting Company Fee list read 26 October 2026 |
| Whitehornes Independent Sheffield (lettings office on Chesterfield Road) | 10% plus VAT for the rest of the tenancy 12% with VAT at 20% | £425 plus VAT (£510 with VAT at 20%), from the first month’s rent | Set-up fee £425 plus VAT, from the first month’s rent | Not listed | Printed plus VAT | Whitehornes Fee list read 26 October 2026 |
| Redbrik Independent Sheffield, Chesterfield and Crystal Peaks | 13.2% Silver, or 18% Gold with rent and legal protection, the inventory and deposit registration included | £480 on every package | No let-only service listed; Bronze finds the tenant and collects the rent | 7.8% Bronze, with the £480 set-up fee | VAT included | Redbrik Fee list read 26 October 2026 |
| Tapton Estates Independent Broomhall, Sheffield (S10) | 14% inclusive of VAT | Tenant set-up, including deposit protection, £78 (£65 plus VAT) | Let only 9%, VAT included | Not listed | VAT included | Tapton Estates Fee list read 26 October 2026 |
| Let Correct Sheffield Franchise branch Sheffield Digital Campus, Sheffield Run by a local franchisee of Let Correct UK Ltd | 12% Fully Managed, or 18% Fully Managed + with rent insurance, of the rent received | £540 for each new tenant find | Tenant Find Only £600 | 10% of rent received monthly, plus £540 for each new tenant find | VAT included | Let Correct Sheffield Fee list read 26 October 2026 |
| Northwood Sheffield Franchise branch Sheffield and Rotherham Run by Northwood Sheffield Limited | 15% of the monthly rent | £420 | £660 tenant find commission | 12% of the monthly rent, plus the £420 set-up fee | VAT included | Northwood Sheffield Fee list read 26 October 2026 |
| Dove Properties Independent Ecclesall Road, Sheffield (S11) | 12.5% plus VAT (15%) 15% with VAT at 20% | Tenancy set-up, including deposit protection, £82.80 (£69 plus VAT) | Let only 100% of the first month’s rent plus VAT | 9.75% plus VAT (11.7%) on its page; its fee schedule prints 9.59% plus VAT | Printed plus VAT | Dove Properties Fee list read 26 October 2026 |
| Staves Estate Agents Independent Woodseats, Sheffield (S8), with offices across south Sheffield and in Dronfield | 12% monthly commission; the list does not say whether VAT is added | £400 on a fully managed let | Let only set-up fee from £650 | Not listed | VAT not stated | Staves Estate Agents Fee list read 26 October 2026 |
Dove Properties: Its one list that opened is on its student lettings site, and its residential site’s fee download was empty when read on 26 October 2026, so its 15% is shown here and left out of the Sheffield range.
Staves Estate Agents: The list does not say whether VAT is added to its 12%, so the rate is shown here and left out of the Sheffield range.
Each agent’s list, line by line
2roost A set-up fee, then a percentage of the rent, printed with VAT and before it.
| Service | To start | Ongoing |
|---|---|---|
| Fully managed | £420 set-up fee | 12% (10% plus VAT) |
| Rent collection | £420 set-up fee | 8.4% (7% plus VAT) |
| Let only | £780, out of the first month’s rent | None |
- Its list says these fees apply from 1 April 2021.
- A tenancy renewal is £60, an inventory £125, a check-out £99 and a gas safety certificate £70, VAT included.
Source: 2roost, Lettings fees, read 26 October 2026.
The Letting Company A percentage of the rent printed before VAT, with no set-up fee listed.
| Service | To start | Ongoing |
|---|---|---|
| Fully Managed Service | None listed | 10% plus VAT |
| Tenant Find Only Service | £395 plus VAT | None |
- One list covers the areas its site names: Wakefield, Barnsley, Sheffield, Doncaster and Rotherham.
- Its page advertises the first six months of management at no charge on a 24-month minimum term, with a £295 plus VAT fee for ending it sooner; a 12-month contract without the offer is also offered.
- The rate falls to 8% plus VAT from five properties.
Source: The Letting Company, Fees, read 26 October 2026.
Whitehornes A set-up fee taken from the first month’s rent, then a percentage printed before VAT.
| Service | To start | Ongoing |
|---|---|---|
| Fully Managed Service | £425 plus VAT, from the first month’s rent | 10% plus VAT |
| Tenant Finding Service | £425 plus VAT, from the first month’s rent | None |
Source: Whitehornes, Letting fees, read 26 October 2026.
Redbrik Three packages on one set-up fee, the top one with rent and legal protection included.
| Service | To start | Ongoing |
|---|---|---|
| Bronze Service | £480 | 7.8% a calendar month |
| Silver Service | £480 | 13.2% a calendar month |
| Gold Service | £480 | 18% a calendar month, with rent and legal protection, the inventory and deposit registration included |
- All fees are stated as including VAT.
- Ending the service while a tenant is in place takes two months’ notice, and the fees stay payable for at least 16 months from the start of the tenancy, as its list says.
- Deposit registration is £6 a month and an inventory from £150, both included in Gold.
Source: Redbrik, Landlord packages and fees (PDF, September 2026), read 26 October 2026.
Tapton Estates A small tenant set-up fee, then a percentage with VAT included.
| Service | To start | Ongoing |
|---|---|---|
| Full Management | Tenant set-up £78 (£65 plus VAT) | 14% inclusive of VAT |
| Let Only | 9% inclusive of VAT | None |
| Let Only Renewal | 9% inclusive of VAT | None |
- The list does not say what the let only 9% is a share of, so ask.
- A marketing floor plan is £78 (£65 plus VAT), and arranging refurbishment or HMO works before a let is 15% of the contractor’s invoice (12.5% plus VAT).
- Its site lists student and professional lets, and the fee list does not split them.
Source: Tapton Estates, Management and fees, read 26 October 2026.
Let Correct Sheffield A fee for each new tenant find, then a percentage of the rent, with a top tier that adds rent insurance.
| Service | To start | Ongoing |
|---|---|---|
| Fully Managed | £540 for each new tenant find | 12% of rent received monthly |
| Fully Managed + | £540 for each new tenant find | 18% of rent received monthly |
| Rent Collection | £540 for each new tenant find | 10% of rent received monthly |
| Tenant Find Only | £600 | None |
- The list says its fees include VAT.
- Its Sheffield complaints procedure says Let Correct is a trading name of Let Correct UK Ltd and sends complaints to the local Let Correct franchise office. The branch page does not name the company that runs the branch.
- Where a package does not cover them, a tenancy renewal is £180, a check-out inspection £420 and rent and legal protection insurance £240.
Source: Let Correct Sheffield, Branch fees, read 26 October 2026.
Northwood Sheffield A set-up fee, then a monthly commission.
| Service | To start | Ongoing |
|---|---|---|
| Fully Managed | £420 standard set-up fee | 15% standard monthly commission |
| Rent Collection | £420 standard set-up fee | 12% standard monthly commission |
| Tenant Find | £660 | None |
- The list says its fees include VAT where applicable.
- A tenant find renewal is £250.
Source: Northwood Sheffield, Landlord fees, read 26 October 2026.
Dove Properties A small tenancy set-up fee, then a percentage of the rent printed before VAT, with no fee until a tenant is signed up.
| Service | To start | Ongoing |
|---|---|---|
| Management Service | Tenancy set-up £82.80 (£69 plus VAT) | 12.5% plus VAT (15%) |
| Let and Rent Collection Service | Tenancy set-up £82.80 (£69 plus VAT) | 9.75% plus VAT (11.7%) |
| Let Only Service | 100% of the first month’s rent plus VAT | None |
- Referencing is £39.60 (£33 plus VAT) a tenant, and the list says that fee is not for student tenants. Right to Rent and AML sanctions checks are £15 (£12.50 plus VAT) a tenant.
- Its fee schedule PDF on the same site prints rent collection at 9.59% plus VAT, against 9.75% on the page, so ask which applies.
Source: Dove Properties, Letting fees (its student lettings site), read 26 October 2026.
Staves Estate Agents A set-up fee, then a monthly commission, with rent and legal protection as an extra.
| Service | To start | Ongoing |
|---|---|---|
| Fully Managed | £400 set-up fee | 12% monthly commission |
| Let Only | From £650 set-up fee | None |
| Rent and Legal Protection Service | None listed | 3% of monthly rent, on a fully managed let |
- Deposit registration is £50, and an inventory £100 for one bedroom up to £175 for four or more.
Source: Staves Estate Agents, Landlords services and fees, read 26 October 2026.
Before you compare
How Sheffield fee lists differ
Packages that add cover.
Redbrik charges 13.2% for its Silver package and 18% for Gold, which adds rent and legal protection, the inventory and deposit registration. Let Correct Sheffield charges 12%, or 18% for Fully Managed + with rent insurance.
Plus VAT.
The Letting Company and Whitehornes print 10% plus VAT, which is 12% of the rent. 2roost prints both figures, 10% plus VAT and 12%.
Set-up fees differ more than rates.
Tapton Estates lists £78 to set up a tenancy, 2roost and Northwood Sheffield £420, Redbrik £480 on every package, Whitehornes £425 plus VAT (£510 with VAT at 20%) and Let Correct Sheffield £540 for each new tenant find. The Letting Company lists none.
Percent of what.
A rate can be charged on the rent due, the rent collected or all money received. Ask which, and whether the fee continues if you end the management but keep the tenant.
A year in Sheffield
Full management on an average Sheffield rent: £1,347.84 to £2,021.76 a year
The average private rent in Sheffield was £936 a month in September 2026, on the Office for National Statistics’ latest figures. Full management at 12% to 18% of that is £1,347.84 to £2,021.76 a year, before set-up fees. LetCompliance Single is £95.88 a year for one property, paid monthly.
- Full management at 18%Redbrik Gold
- £2,021.76 a year
- Full management at 12%2roost
- £1,347.84 a year
- LetCompliance Single£7.99 a month for one property
- £95.88 a year
The bars compare fees, not services. Full management includes someone who goes to the property for viewings, inspections and key handovers; running the let yourself, that person is you, or someone local you pay. Set-up, inventory and renewal fees come on top of the agent’s figure. Source: Office for National Statistics, Price Index of Private Rents, released 21 October 2026.
Or keep the fee
Run the whole Sheffield let yourself, from £7.99 a month
That is £95.88 a year for one property, against £1,347.84 to £2,021.76 for full management on the average Sheffield rent.
Plans are one price for each size of portfolio, never a charge per property, a month: £7.99 for 1 property, £14.99 for up to 3, £19 for up to 10, £29 for up to 20 and £49 for any number.
- Let it without an agent. Adverts, applications and viewings in one place, referencing paid per check, and an assured periodic tenancy agreement signed online.
- Start the tenancy right. The deposit’s 30-day protection clock and the Prescribed Information, with the gas, electrical and EPC certificates tracked and reminded.
- Get paid without a commission. Rent by Direct Debit, with a card link as a fallback, and arrears tracked and chased. LetCompliance takes no commission. Stripe charges 1% of each Direct Debit payment with a 20p minimum and a £4 cap, and £5 for a disputed payment.
- Handle the rest. Repairs reported by the tenant and sent to your own contractors, Section 8 and Section 13 notices on paid plans, and Making Tax Digital for Income Tax on UK property income, recognised by HMRC.
What an agent still does that software does not: turn up. Viewings, inspections, key handovers and being the tenant’s first call when something breaks stay with you, or you buy them in.
Licensing is separate from the agent’s fee. Whether a Sheffield let needs a licence, and which, is on the landlord rules page for Sheffield.
Online agents
National online agents, for comparison
They price the whole country, so they are kept out of the Sheffield range. Their figures are the UK-wide comparison’s, each read on the date shown.
OpenRent
One-off fees and small monthly add-ons. No percentage of rent at any tier.
- Full management
- No full-management plan listed; Management Plus, £19 a month, covers emergency repairs, up to 3 fixes a year
- Set-up fee
- None beyond the advertising package
LettingaProperty.com
A flat monthly fee set by rent band, with no percentage of the rent.
- Full management
- Complete Care, a flat £109 to £159 a month inc VAT by rent band (no percentage)
- Set-up fee
- £199, covering 8 weeks of portal advertising
Purplebricks
A percentage of rent for the whole term, plus a set-up fee. Priced like a high-street agent, not like a flat-fee one.
- Full management
- 12% of the total rent for the term, minimum £81 a month
- Set-up fee
- £540 for full management outside London, £960 inside; £420 or £720 for rent collection
Method
How these figures were read
- Every figure is from the agent’s own fee page or fee PDF, read on 26 October 2026 and linked in its row. The law makes each letting agent in England publish its fees, with each amount including tax (Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 83).
- The range is the lowest and highest full management rate for a let to one household across the Sheffield lists that charge a percentage, VAT included, packages with rent guarantee or extra cover among them. Where a list gives a band or a starting point, or a reduced rate shown against an original price, those figures count and the row says so. HMO, student and portfolio rates are in the lists, not the range.
- Where a list prints its rate only plus VAT, the figure with VAT at 20% (GOV.UK VAT rates) is shown beside it and counts in the range.
- Franchise branches are included: each sets its own fees, and its row names the company that runs it. National online agents are shown apart, from the UK-wide comparison.
- Left out of the range: flat fees, a rate whose VAT the list does not state, a tier sold as all-inclusive with no tenant-find fee added, and lists that give two different rates for the same service. Set-up fees have their own column; nothing is averaged.
- The average rent is the ONS figure for Sheffield, all property types, for September 2026. The figures are general information, not legal, tax or financial advice.
Questions
Letting agent fees in Sheffield: questions landlords ask
How much do letting agents charge in Sheffield?
On seven Sheffield agents’ own fee lists, read 26 October 2026, full management is 12% to 18% of the rent, VAT included. 2roost, The Letting Company, Whitehornes and Let Correct Sheffield share the lowest rate. Redbrik and Let Correct Sheffield share the highest. Most also charge a fee to set up each tenancy, shown beside each rate on this page.
What does a letting agent cost a year on an average Sheffield rent?
The average private rent in Sheffield was £936 a month in September 2026 (ONS). Full management at 12% to 18% of that is £1,347.84 to £2,021.76 a year, before set-up fees. Running the let yourself on LetCompliance Single is £95.88 a year for one property.
Which Sheffield letting agent lists the lowest management rate?
On these lists, four share it: 2roost, The Letting Company, Whitehornes and Let Correct Sheffield, each at 12% of the rent for full management, VAT included. A low rate can come with a higher set-up fee or a minimum charge, so compare the first year with every fee added.
Do Sheffield letting agents charge a different rate for student lets?
None of these lists prints a separate student rate. Tapton Estates, whose site lists student and professional lets, charges 14% for full management, VAT included. Dove Properties’ list, on its student lettings site, is 12.5% plus VAT (15%), and it says its referencing fee is not for student tenants; that list is shown in the table but not counted in the range. Ask for the rate on a student house in writing before you sign.
Letting agent fees in other cities