Skip to main content
LetComplianceLandlord & property management software

Letting agent fees, Leeds

How much do letting agents charge in Leeds? Full management is 9.6% to 16.2% of the rent.

On six Leeds agents’ own fee lists, read 24 October 2026, full management is 9.6% (Lets Go Leeds) to 16.2% (DEU Estates) of the rent, VAT included. On the average Leeds rent that is £1,322.50 to £2,231.71 a year, before set-up fees.

Fee lists
7
Read on
24 October 2026
Average rent
£1,148 a month, ONS

Keeping the fee? LetCompliance is landlord software for running the whole let yourself: the advert, the tenancy agreement, rent by Direct Debit and Making Tax Digital, from £7.99 a month for one property.

Compare Leeds agents

What seven Leeds letting agents publish

Every letting agent in England has to publish its fees with tax included (Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 83). These figures are read from the agents’ own sites, not from a summary, and each row links the page it came from. Each agent’s own list decides what you pay, and fees change.

What Leeds letting agents charge landlords

  • Lets Go Leeds

    Independent Rothwell, Leeds (LS26)
    Full management
    8% plus VAT a month 9.6% with VAT at 20%
    Set-up fee
    £295 plus VAT
    Tenant find or let only
    Tenant find only £550 plus VAT
    Rent collection
    Not listed
    VAT on the list
    Printed plus VAT
    Lets Go Leeds Fee list read 24 October 2026
  • Leyo Lettings

    Independent Leeds and York
    Full management
    10% of the rent collected
    Set-up fee
    None; smart heating and keypad locks are fitted at the landlord’s cost
    Tenant find or let only
    £450 for a single let, £150 a room
    Rent collection
    Not listed
    VAT on the list
    Not VAT registered
    Leyo Lettings Fee list read 24 October 2026
  • X1 Sales & Lettings

    Independent Manchester, Liverpool, Leeds and Kent, on one list
    Full management
    10.8% of the monthly rent (9% plus VAT)
    Set-up fee
    None listed
    Tenant find or let only
    Let only £780 (£650 plus VAT), paid up front
    Rent collection
    Not listed
    VAT on the list
    VAT included
    X1 Sales & Lettings Fee list read 24 October 2026
  • DEU Estates

    Independent Leeds (LS6)
    Full management
    16.2% (13.5% plus VAT)
    Set-up fee
    £60 marketing and admin fee for each letting, plus £30 deposit registration and checks per person
    Tenant find or let only
    Let only 120% of one month’s rent
    Rent collection
    13.2% (11% plus VAT)
    VAT on the list
    VAT included
    DEU Estates Fee list read 24 October 2026
  • Belvoir Leeds North West

    Franchise branch Guiseley, Leeds (LS20) Run by G T M Limited
    Full management
    13.2%, or 16.2% with rent guarantee and legal cover
    Set-up fee
    £420 (£350 plus VAT)
    Tenant find or let only
    The first month’s rent, minimum £540
    Rent collection
    8.4% (let only and rent collection)
    VAT on the list
    VAT included
    Belvoir Leeds North West Fee list read 24 October 2026
  • Northwood Leeds

    Franchise branch Leeds (LS7) Run by Northwood (Leeds) Limited
    Full management
    14.4% of the monthly rent
    Set-up fee
    £474
    Tenant find or let only
    £1,074
    Rent collection
    9.6% of the monthly rent
    VAT on the list
    VAT included
    Northwood Leeds Fee list read 24 October 2026
  • Kath Wells

    Independent Wortley, Leeds (LS12)
    Full management
    10% a month; the list does not say whether VAT is added
    Set-up fee
    Letting fee £420 (£350 plus VAT)
    Tenant find or let only
    Let only £480 (£400 plus VAT)
    Rent collection
    Not listed
    VAT on the list
    VAT not stated
    Kath Wells Fee list read 24 October 2026
What Leeds letting agents charge landlords
AgentFull managementSet-up feeTenant find or let onlyRent collectionVAT on the listSource
Lets Go Leeds Independent Rothwell, Leeds (LS26)8% plus VAT a month 9.6% with VAT at 20%£295 plus VATTenant find only £550 plus VATNot listedPrinted plus VATLets Go Leeds Fee list read 24 October 2026
Leyo Lettings Independent Leeds and York10% of the rent collectedNone; smart heating and keypad locks are fitted at the landlord’s cost£450 for a single let, £150 a roomNot listedNot VAT registeredLeyo Lettings Fee list read 24 October 2026
X1 Sales & Lettings Independent Manchester, Liverpool, Leeds and Kent, on one list10.8% of the monthly rent (9% plus VAT)None listedLet only £780 (£650 plus VAT), paid up frontNot listedVAT includedX1 Sales & Lettings Fee list read 24 October 2026
DEU Estates Independent Leeds (LS6)16.2% (13.5% plus VAT)£60 marketing and admin fee for each letting, plus £30 deposit registration and checks per personLet only 120% of one month’s rent13.2% (11% plus VAT)VAT includedDEU Estates Fee list read 24 October 2026
Belvoir Leeds North West Franchise branch Guiseley, Leeds (LS20) Run by G T M Limited13.2%, or 16.2% with rent guarantee and legal cover£420 (£350 plus VAT)The first month’s rent, minimum £5408.4% (let only and rent collection)VAT includedBelvoir Leeds North West Fee list read 24 October 2026
Northwood Leeds Franchise branch Leeds (LS7) Run by Northwood (Leeds) Limited14.4% of the monthly rent£474£1,0749.6% of the monthly rentVAT includedNorthwood Leeds Fee list read 24 October 2026
Kath Wells Independent Wortley, Leeds (LS12)10% a month; the list does not say whether VAT is addedLetting fee £420 (£350 plus VAT)Let only £480 (£400 plus VAT)Not listedVAT not statedKath Wells Fee list read 24 October 2026

Kath Wells: The list does not say whether VAT is added to its 10%, so the rate is shown here and left out of the Leeds range.

Each agent’s list, line by line

Lets Go Leeds A set-up fee, then a monthly percentage printed before VAT.
ServiceTo startOngoing
Fully Managed Service£295 plus VAT8% plus VAT a month
Tenant Find Only Service£550 plus VATNone

Source: Lets Go Leeds, Fees, read 24 October 2026.

Leyo Lettings A percentage of the rent it collects, with tenant find charged separately and no set-up fee.
ServiceTo startOngoing
Property managementNone10% of the rent collected
Tenant find, single let£450None
Tenant find, per room£150None
  • Leyo says it is not VAT registered, so 10% is the whole fee.
  • It lists no set-up, renewal or exit fees, and a lower management rate from the second property.
  • It fits smart heating, about £500 a house, and keypad locks, about £200 a door, in every house it manages, at the landlord’s cost.

Source: Leyo Lettings, Fees, read 24 October 2026.

X1 Sales & Lettings One list for every city it covers: a percentage of the rent, with no set-up fee listed.
ServiceTo startOngoing
X1 Full ManagementNone listed10.8% of the monthly rent (9% plus VAT)
X1 Let Only£780 (£650 plus VAT)None
  • One list covers its Manchester, Liverpool, Leeds and Kent offices.
  • Its page advertises the first three months of full management at no charge, as an offer.

Source: X1 Sales & Lettings, Property management, read 24 October 2026.

DEU Estates A percentage of the rent, with small fees for each letting listed beside it.
ServiceTo startOngoing
Fully Managed£60 marketing and admin fee for each letting16.2% of the rent (13.5% plus VAT)
Letting and Rent Collection£60 marketing and admin fee for each letting13.2% of the rent (11% plus VAT)
Let Only120% of one month’s rentNone
  • All fees are stated as including VAT.
  • Each letting also carries a £30 deposit registration fee, an anti-money-laundering check at £6.60 a person and a Right to Rent check at £7.20 a tenant.

Source: DEU Estates, Fees, read 24 October 2026.

Belvoir Leeds North West A set-up fee, then a percentage of the rent, with a higher tier that includes rent guarantee.
ServiceTo startOngoing
Full Management Service£420 (£350 plus VAT)13.2% of the rent (11% plus VAT)
Rent guarantee and legal cover including full management£420 (£350 plus VAT)16.2% of the rent (13.5% plus VAT)
Let only and rent collectionNone listed8.4% of the rent (7% plus VAT)
Let onlyThe first month’s rent, minimum £540None
  • Deposit protection administration is £66 a year.

Source: Belvoir Leeds North West, Landlord fees, read 24 October 2026.

Northwood Leeds A set-up fee for each new tenant, then a percentage of the monthly rent.
ServiceTo startOngoing
Fully ManagedSet-up fee £47414.4% of the monthly rent
Rent CollectionSet-up fee £4749.6% of the monthly rent
Tenant Find£1,074None
  • The set-up fee is payable each time it finds a new tenant.

Source: Northwood Leeds, Landlord fees, read 24 October 2026.

Kath Wells A letting fee, then a monthly management charge.
ServiceTo startOngoing
Fully ManagedLetting fee £420 (£350 plus VAT)10% a month
Let Only£480 (£400 plus VAT)None

Source: Kath Wells, Landlords fees, read 24 October 2026.

Before you compare

How Leeds fee lists differ

  • Plus VAT, or no VAT.

    Lets Go Leeds lists 8% plus VAT, which is 9.6% of the rent. Leyo says it is not VAT registered, so its 10% is the whole fee.

  • A rent guarantee tier.

    Belvoir Leeds North West charges 13.2% for full management, or 16.2% with rent guarantee and legal cover included.

  • Small fees for each letting.

    DEU’s 16.2% comes with a £60 marketing and admin fee for each letting, a £30 deposit registration fee and checks charged per person.

  • Percent of what.

    A rate can be charged on the rent due, the rent collected or all money received. Ask which, and whether the fee continues if you end the management but keep the tenant.

A year in Leeds

Full management on an average Leeds rent: £1,322.50 to £2,231.71 a year

The average private rent in Leeds was £1,148 a month in September 2026, on the Office for National Statistics’ latest figures. Full management at 9.6% to 16.2% of that is £1,322.50 to £2,231.71 a year, before set-up fees. LetCompliance Single is £95.88 a year for one property, paid monthly.

Full management at 16.2%DEU Estates
£2,231.71 a year
Full management at 9.6%Lets Go Leeds
£1,322.50 a year
LetCompliance Single£7.99 a month for one property
£95.88 a year

The bars compare fees, not services. Full management includes someone who goes to the property for viewings, inspections and key handovers; running the let yourself, that person is you, or someone local you pay. Set-up, inventory and renewal fees come on top of the agent’s figure. Source: Office for National Statistics, Price Index of Private Rents, released 21 October 2026.

Or keep the fee

Run the whole Leeds let yourself, from £7.99 a month

That is £95.88 a year for one property, against £1,322.50 to £2,231.71 for full management on the average Leeds rent.

Plans are one price for each size of portfolio, never a charge per property, a month: £7.99 for 1 property, £14.99 for up to 3, £19 for up to 10, £29 for up to 20 and £49 for any number.

  • Let it without an agent. Adverts, applications and viewings in one place, referencing paid per check, and an assured periodic tenancy agreement signed online.
  • Start the tenancy right. The deposit’s 30-day protection clock and the Prescribed Information, with the gas, electrical and EPC certificates tracked and reminded.
  • Get paid without a commission. Rent by Direct Debit, with a card link as a fallback, and arrears tracked and chased. LetCompliance takes no commission. Stripe charges 1% of each Direct Debit payment with a 20p minimum and a £4 cap, and £5 for a disputed payment.
  • Handle the rest. Repairs reported by the tenant and sent to your own contractors, Section 8 and Section 13 notices on paid plans, and Making Tax Digital for Income Tax on UK property income, recognised by HMRC.

What an agent still does that software does not: turn up. Viewings, inspections, key handovers and being the tenant’s first call when something breaks stay with you, or you buy them in.

Licensing is separate from the agent’s fee. Whether a Leeds let needs a licence, and which, is on the landlord rules page for Leeds.

Online agents

National online agents, for comparison

They price the whole country, so they are kept out of the Leeds range. Their figures are the UK-wide comparison’s, each read on the date shown.

  • OpenRent

    One-off fees and small monthly add-ons. No percentage of rent at any tier.

    Full management
    No full-management plan listed; Management Plus, £19 a month, covers emergency repairs, up to 3 fixes a year
    Set-up fee
    None beyond the advertising package
    OpenRent Fee list read 16 October 2026
  • LettingaProperty.com

    A flat monthly fee set by rent band, with no percentage of the rent.

    Full management
    Complete Care, a flat £109 to £159 a month inc VAT by rent band (no percentage)
    Set-up fee
    £199, covering 8 weeks of portal advertising
    LettingaProperty.com Fee list read 16 October 2026
  • Purplebricks

    A percentage of rent for the whole term, plus a set-up fee. Priced like a high-street agent, not like a flat-fee one.

    Full management
    12% of the total rent for the term, minimum £81 a month
    Set-up fee
    £540 for full management outside London, £960 inside; £420 or £720 for rent collection
    Purplebricks Fee list read 16 October 2026

Method

How these figures were read

  • Every figure is from the agent’s own fee page or fee PDF, read on 24 October 2026 and linked in its row. The law makes each letting agent in England publish its fees, with each amount including tax (Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 83).
  • The range is the lowest and highest full management rate for a let to one household across the Leeds lists that charge a percentage, VAT included, packages with rent guarantee or extra cover among them. Where a list gives a band or a starting point, or a reduced rate shown against an original price, those figures count and the row says so. HMO, student and portfolio rates are in the lists, not the range.
  • Where a list prints its rate only plus VAT, the figure with VAT at 20% (GOV.UK VAT rates) is shown beside it and counts in the range.
  • Franchise branches are included: each sets its own fees, and its row names the company that runs it. National online agents are shown apart, from the UK-wide comparison.
  • Left out of the range: flat fees, a rate whose VAT the list does not state, a tier sold as all-inclusive with no tenant-find fee added, and lists that give two different rates for the same service. Set-up fees have their own column; nothing is averaged.
  • The average rent is the ONS figure for Leeds, all property types, for September 2026. The figures are general information, not legal, tax or financial advice.

Questions

Letting agent fees in Leeds: questions landlords ask

How much do letting agents charge in Leeds?

On six Leeds agents’ own fee lists, read 24 October 2026, full management is 9.6% to 16.2% of the rent, VAT included. Lets Go Leeds lists the lowest rate. DEU Estates and Belvoir Leeds North West share the highest. Most also charge a fee to set up each tenancy, shown beside each rate on this page.

What does a letting agent cost a year on an average Leeds rent?

The average private rent in Leeds was £1,148 a month in September 2026 (ONS). Full management at 9.6% to 16.2% of that is £1,322.50 to £2,231.71 a year, before set-up fees. Running the let yourself on LetCompliance Single is £95.88 a year for one property.

Which Leeds letting agent lists the lowest management rate?

On these lists, Lets Go Leeds, at 9.6% of the rent for full management, VAT included. A low rate can come with a higher set-up fee or a minimum charge, so compare the first year with every fee added.

Do Leeds letting agents add VAT on top of their fee?

Most of these lists print the rate with VAT included, but not all. Lets Go Leeds lists 8% plus VAT, which is 9.6% of the rent, and DEU prints both, 13.5% plus VAT and 16.2%. Leyo says it is not VAT registered, so its 10% is the whole fee. Compare every quote with VAT included.