Skip to main content
LetComplianceLandlord & property management software

Letting agent fees, Brighton

How much do letting agents charge in Brighton? Full management is 10% to 14.4% of the rent.

On four Brighton agents’ own fee lists, read 26 October 2026, full management is 10% (Brighton and Hove Living, with no VAT on top, as its list says) to 14.4% (MyHaus Brighton) of the rent, VAT included. On the average Brighton rent that is £2,179.20 to £3,138.05 a year, before set-up fees.

Fee lists
5
Read on
26 October 2026
Average rent
£1,816 a month, ONS

Keeping the fee? LetCompliance is landlord software for running the whole let yourself: the advert, the tenancy agreement, rent by Direct Debit and Making Tax Digital, from £7.99 a month for one property.

Compare Brighton agents

What five Brighton letting agents publish

Every letting agent in England has to publish its fees with tax included (Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 83). These figures are read from the agents’ own sites, not from a summary, and each row links the page it came from. Each agent’s own list decides what you pay, and fees change.

What Brighton letting agents charge landlords

  • Brighton and Hove Living

    Independent Brighton (BN1)
    Full management
    10% of the rent, with no VAT added
    Set-up fee
    £0 tenancy set-up
    Tenant find or let only
    £0
    Rent collection
    Not listed
    VAT on the list
    No VAT added
    Brighton and Hove Living Fee list read 26 October 2026
  • Horizon Letting Agent

    Independent West Street, Brighton (BN1)
    Full management
    10% of the monthly rent plus VAT 12% with VAT at 20%
    Set-up fee
    None listed
    Tenant find or let only
    Let only 50% of the first month’s rent plus VAT
    Rent collection
    Not listed
    VAT on the list
    Printed plus VAT
    Horizon Letting Agent Fee list read 26 October 2026
  • MyHaus Brighton

    Independent Queens Road, Brighton (BN1)
    Full management
    12% a month plus VAT (its list says all prices are exclusive of VAT) 14.4% with VAT at 20%
    Set-up fee
    A one-off £250 for the monthly management services, before VAT
    Tenant find or let only
    Tenant introduction two weeks’ rent, before VAT
    Rent collection
    10% a month, before VAT
    VAT on the list
    Printed plus VAT
    MyHaus Brighton Fee list read 26 October 2026
  • The Property Shop

    Independent Kemp Town, Brighton (BN2)
    Full management
    12% of the monthly rent plus VAT, rental guarantee included 14.4% with VAT at 20%
    Set-up fee
    None listed
    Tenant find or let only
    Finders fee 50% of the first month’s rent plus VAT
    Rent collection
    Rent and Collect 10% of the monthly rent plus VAT, rental guarantee included
    VAT on the list
    Printed plus VAT
    The Property Shop Fee list read 26 October 2026
  • Property Plus Lettings

    Independent Church Road, Hove (BN3)
    Full management
    12% commission on the rental income; the list does not say whether VAT is added
    Set-up fee
    None listed; check-out and deposit registration are included
    Tenant find or let only
    Letting only 9% of the rental income, paid six-monthly in advance; VAT not stated
    Rent collection
    Not listed
    VAT on the list
    VAT not stated
    Property Plus Lettings Fee list read 26 October 2026
What Brighton letting agents charge landlords
AgentFull managementSet-up feeTenant find or let onlyRent collectionVAT on the listSource
Brighton and Hove Living Independent Brighton (BN1)10% of the rent, with no VAT added£0 tenancy set-up£0Not listedNo VAT addedBrighton and Hove Living Fee list read 26 October 2026
Horizon Letting Agent Independent West Street, Brighton (BN1)10% of the monthly rent plus VAT 12% with VAT at 20%None listedLet only 50% of the first month’s rent plus VATNot listedPrinted plus VATHorizon Letting Agent Fee list read 26 October 2026
MyHaus Brighton Independent Queens Road, Brighton (BN1)12% a month plus VAT (its list says all prices are exclusive of VAT) 14.4% with VAT at 20%A one-off £250 for the monthly management services, before VATTenant introduction two weeks’ rent, before VAT10% a month, before VATPrinted plus VATMyHaus Brighton Fee list read 26 October 2026
The Property Shop Independent Kemp Town, Brighton (BN2)12% of the monthly rent plus VAT, rental guarantee included 14.4% with VAT at 20%None listedFinders fee 50% of the first month’s rent plus VATRent and Collect 10% of the monthly rent plus VAT, rental guarantee includedPrinted plus VATThe Property Shop Fee list read 26 October 2026
Property Plus Lettings Independent Church Road, Hove (BN3)12% commission on the rental income; the list does not say whether VAT is addedNone listed; check-out and deposit registration are includedLetting only 9% of the rental income, paid six-monthly in advance; VAT not statedNot listedVAT not statedProperty Plus Lettings Fee list read 26 October 2026

Property Plus Lettings: The list prints its other charges plus VAT but does not say whether VAT is added to its 12% commission, so the rate is shown here and left out of the Brighton range.

Each agent’s list, line by line

Brighton and Hove Living One management percentage with no VAT added, no tenant-find or set-up fee, and other costs passed on at cost price.
ServiceTo startOngoing
Property managementTenant find £0, tenancy set-up £010% of the rent (No VAT)
  • Its list prints the rate as 10% (No VAT), and its pages say no VAT is added on top.
  • It lists check-in, check-out, deposit management and changes to the tenancy at £0, and passes on cleaning, maintenance, inventories and safety certificates at cost price with no mark-up.
  • The contract is listed as one month rolling.

Source: Brighton and Hove Living, Fees, read 26 October 2026.

Horizon Letting Agent Two services: let only as a share of the first month’s rent, or a monthly percentage printed before VAT.
ServiceTo startOngoing
Fully managedNone listed10% of the monthly rent plus VAT
Let only50% of the first month’s rent plus VATNone
  • Its page says both services include everything it lists, with no extras.

Source: Horizon Letting Agent, Landlords, read 26 October 2026.

MyHaus Brighton A one-off set-up fee, then a monthly percentage, with every price printed before VAT.
ServiceTo startOngoing
Fully Managed£250 one-off set-up fee for monthly management services, before VAT12% pcm, before VAT
Rent Collection£250 one-off set-up fee for monthly management services, before VAT10% pcm, before VAT
Tenant IntroductionTwo weeks’ rent, before VATNone
  • Its list says all prices are exclusive of VAT, so each rate is shown here with VAT added at 20%.
  • Rent guarantee protection is an optional extra, printed as 3% GMR, before VAT.
  • An inventory and schedule of condition is from £75 and an interim inspection £60, before VAT.

Source: MyHaus Brighton, Services and fees, read 26 October 2026.

The Property Shop A monthly percentage printed before VAT, with a rental guarantee included in both managed services.
ServiceTo startOngoing
Full ManagementNone listed12% of the monthly rent plus VAT
Rent and CollectNone listed10% of the monthly rent plus VAT
Finders Fee50% of the first month’s rent plus VATNone
  • Its page says a rental guarantee is included in Full Management and in Rent and Collect.
  • Its own example: on a rent of £900 a month, full management is £108 plus VAT a month.
  • A gas safety check is £50, an EICR £125 and an EPC £70, each plus VAT.

Source: The Property Shop, Landlord and tenant fees, read 26 October 2026.

Property Plus Lettings A commission on the rent for both services, with its extras printed plus VAT.
ServiceTo startOngoing
Fully ManagedNone listed12% commission on the rental income, monthly or six-monthly in advance
Letting OnlyDeposit registration £40 and check-out £70, each plus VAT9% of the rental income, six-monthly in advance
  • Check-out of tenants and deposit registration are included in Fully Managed.
  • An EPC is £80 plus VAT.

Source: Property Plus Lettings, Landlord fees, read 26 October 2026.

Before you compare

How Brighton fee lists differ

  • No VAT, or VAT on top.

    Brighton and Hove Living lists 10% with no VAT added. Horizon prints 10% plus VAT, which is 12% of the rent, and The Property Shop and MyHaus Brighton print 12% before VAT, which is 14.4%. Property Plus Lettings does not say whether VAT is added to its 12% commission.

  • A rent guarantee in the rate, or on top.

    The Property Shop says a rental guarantee is included in its Full Management and in its Rent and Collect service. MyHaus Brighton lists rent guarantee protection as an optional extra at 3% GMR, before VAT.

  • A set-up fee, or none.

    MyHaus Brighton charges a one-off £250 set-up fee before VAT. Brighton and Hove Living lists £0 for tenant find and tenancy set-up, and Horizon and The Property Shop list no set-up fee beside full management.

  • Percent of what.

    A rate can be charged on the rent due, the rent collected or all money received. Ask which, and whether the fee continues if you end the management but keep the tenant.

A year in Brighton

Full management on an average Brighton rent: £2,179.20 to £3,138.05 a year

The average private rent in Brighton and Hove was £1,816 a month in September 2026, on the Office for National Statistics’ latest figures. Full management at 10% to 14.4% of that is £2,179.20 to £3,138.05 a year, before set-up fees. LetCompliance Single is £95.88 a year for one property, paid monthly.

Full management at 14.4%MyHaus Brighton
£3,138.05 a year
Full management at 10%Brighton and Hove Living, with no VAT on top, as its list says
£2,179.20 a year
LetCompliance Single£7.99 a month for one property
£95.88 a year

The bars compare fees, not services. Full management includes someone who goes to the property for viewings, inspections and key handovers; running the let yourself, that person is you, or someone local you pay. Set-up, inventory and renewal fees come on top of the agent’s figure. Source: Office for National Statistics, Price Index of Private Rents, released 21 October 2026.

Or keep the fee

Run the whole Brighton let yourself, from £7.99 a month

That is £95.88 a year for one property, against £2,179.20 to £3,138.05 for full management on the average Brighton rent.

Plans are one price for each size of portfolio, never a charge per property, a month: £7.99 for 1 property, £14.99 for up to 3, £19 for up to 10, £29 for up to 20 and £49 for any number.

  • Let it without an agent. Adverts, applications and viewings in one place, referencing paid per check, and an assured periodic tenancy agreement signed online.
  • Start the tenancy right. The deposit’s 30-day protection clock and the Prescribed Information, with the gas, electrical and EPC certificates tracked and reminded.
  • Get paid without a commission. Rent by Direct Debit, with a card link as a fallback, and arrears tracked and chased. LetCompliance takes no commission. Stripe charges 1% of each Direct Debit payment with a 20p minimum and a £4 cap, and £5 for a disputed payment.
  • Handle the rest. Repairs reported by the tenant and sent to your own contractors, Section 8 and Section 13 notices on paid plans, and Making Tax Digital for Income Tax on UK property income, recognised by HMRC.

What an agent still does that software does not: turn up. Viewings, inspections, key handovers and being the tenant’s first call when something breaks stay with you, or you buy them in.

Licensing is separate from the agent’s fee. Whether a Brighton let needs a licence, and which, is on the landlord rules page for Brighton.

Online agents

National online agents, for comparison

They price the whole country, so they are kept out of the Brighton range. Their figures are the UK-wide comparison’s, each read on the date shown.

  • OpenRent

    One-off fees and small monthly add-ons. No percentage of rent at any tier.

    Full management
    No full-management plan listed; Management Plus, £19 a month, covers emergency repairs, up to 3 fixes a year
    Set-up fee
    None beyond the advertising package
    OpenRent Fee list read 25 October 2026
  • LettingaProperty.com

    A flat monthly fee set by rent band, with no percentage of the rent.

    Full management
    Complete Care, a flat £109 to £159 a month inc VAT by rent band (no percentage)
    Set-up fee
    £199, covering 8 weeks of portal advertising
    LettingaProperty.com Fee list read 16 October 2026
  • Purplebricks

    A percentage of rent for the whole term, plus a set-up fee. Priced like a high-street agent, not like a flat-fee one.

    Full management
    12% of the total rent for the term, minimum £81 a month
    Set-up fee
    £540 for full management outside London, £960 inside; £420 or £720 for rent collection
    Purplebricks Fee list read 16 October 2026

Method

How these figures were read

  • Every figure is from the agent’s own fee page or fee PDF, read on 26 October 2026 and linked in its row. The law makes each letting agent in England publish its fees, with each amount including tax (Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 83).
  • The range is the lowest and highest full management rate for a let to one household across the Brighton lists that charge a percentage, VAT included, packages with rent guarantee or extra cover among them. Where a list gives a band or a starting point, or a reduced rate shown against an original price, those figures count and the row says so. HMO, student and portfolio rates are in the lists, not the range.
  • Where a list prints its rate only plus VAT, the figure with VAT at 20% (GOV.UK VAT rates) is shown beside it and counts in the range.
  • Franchise branches are included: each sets its own fees, and its row names the company that runs it. National online agents are shown apart, from the UK-wide comparison.
  • Left out of the range: flat fees, a rate whose VAT the list does not state, a tier sold as all-inclusive with no tenant-find fee added, and lists that give two different rates for the same service. Set-up fees have their own column; nothing is averaged.
  • The average rent is the ONS figure for Brighton and Hove, all property types, for September 2026. The figures are general information, not legal, tax or financial advice.

Questions

Letting agent fees in Brighton: questions landlords ask

How much do letting agents charge in Brighton?

On four Brighton agents’ own fee lists, read 26 October 2026, full management is 10% to 14.4% of the rent, VAT included. Brighton and Hove Living lists the lowest rate, with no VAT on top, as its list says. MyHaus Brighton and The Property Shop share the highest. Most also charge a fee to set up each tenancy, shown beside each rate on this page.

What does a letting agent cost a year on an average Brighton rent?

The average private rent in Brighton and Hove was £1,816 a month in September 2026 (ONS). Full management at 10% to 14.4% of that is £2,179.20 to £3,138.05 a year, before set-up fees. Running the let yourself on LetCompliance Single is £95.88 a year for one property.

Which Brighton letting agent lists the lowest management rate?

On these lists, Brighton and Hove Living, at 10% of the rent for full management, VAT included. That is with no VAT on top, as its list says. A low rate can come with a higher set-up fee or a minimum charge, so compare the first year with every fee added.

Do any Brighton letting agents include a rent guarantee?

One does, on these lists. The Property Shop says a rental guarantee is included in its Full Management, 12% plus VAT (14.4% of the rent), and in its Rent and Collect service, 10% plus VAT. MyHaus Brighton lists rent guarantee protection as an optional extra at 3% GMR, before VAT, on top of its 12%. Ask what the guarantee covers, and for how long, before you sign.